Alloy
Alltags-Allfaelligkeiten
E-Bay
Gedichte
Medien-Mirakel
Pictures and Multimedia
TexasBlog
Profil
Abmelden
Weblog abonnieren
icon
Wo die Raumzeit gebogen wird

 
Metropolis
A couple of weeks ago I walked into Walgreens, one of the pharmacy corporations in the US, and spotted the "DVDs for $3.99" tray.
For I am always curious about DVDs, I walked by, learning that the displayed movies are of such incredibly interesting selection that I do not even remember one name...
However, suddenly one title struck my eye - "Night of the living dead". Indeed it was the original famous 1968 version of the probably first zombie movie ever...Of course I could not resist to look farther into this pile of B-movies and the worst hours Hollywood ever produced, and again I was successful. I uncovered "The cabinet of Dr. Caligari"! I bought both movies at once, not before checking that there was no other bargain left out.
I watched both movies that same evening, stunned by the luck I had. Both movies were on my watchlist for a long time, and of course I was surprised to find them there...
The story even goes on...
Approximately four weeks after this first incident I was at Walgreens again, checking out the "DVDs for $3.99" tray again, disregarding the fact that my chances for such a big hit are probably 1:the number of atoms in the universe.
Probably the universe does not have that many atoms, but what I found was breathtaking: "Nosferatu", digitally restored! Well, they added a soundtrack by "Type 0 Negative", which destroys this great movie with total stupid trash-metal, but since it is a silent movie anyway, I can just mute it...I watched this movie already too, and was delighted...Unfortunately I did not have the chance to watch it at the Sommerkino in the Augarten this summer, since I was already gone at that time...
Nosferatu
Now to come to a conclusion, I can report some very nice and recent events...I changend my hostfamily during the holidays, and now I have cable TV. There is one channel solely dedicated to show what is running on other channels, by the way...actually not a bad idea...
Anyway, I happened to discover that Woody Allen's "Sleeper" was to be played on a channel, so I tuned in immediately...This movie has been incredibly delightful now, but it got even better when I heard that after "The Sleeper" they will show "Metropolis"! So now I am watching "Metropolis" here on TV, and I just wanted to share my joy with all of you...
Have fun with a happy new year!
 

twoday.net AGB

xml version of this page

powered by Antville powered by Helma